English Français Deutsch Italiano Español

Welcome to the website of the Leo J. Elders Foundation

Mission of the Foundation

The Leo J. Elders Foundation seeks to preserve and promote the work of the Dutch Thomist philosopher and theologian Leo J. Elders s.v.d.

The Foundation advances its mission through edi­ting and publishing his unpublished wri­tings as well through suppor­ting research and publications which are conducive to the promotion of the scientific and spiritual value of his work. The Foundation wants to achieve this mission close consultation with the Diocese of Haar­lem-Am­ster­dam

Leo J. Elders s.v.d.

The Foundation, a Catholic civil legal entity established on August 20, 2020, is named after Prof. Dr. Leo J. Elders s.v.d., inter­na­tio­nally renowned and acclaimed philosopher and theologian.

As a scholar on Aristotle and Saint Thomas Aquinas, Leo Elders (1926-2019) contributed significantly to the preservation and rediscovery of the philosophical, theological and exegetical work of Saint Thomas Aquinas.

As a mis­sio­na­ry and priest of the Society of the Divine Word (Societas Verbi Divini), he was a tireless traveler in the service of the Kingdom of God.

As a writer, he leaves behind an extensive oeuvre in different languages ​​and in different fields (the study of Aristotle and St. Thomas, metaphysics, natural philosophy, ethics, dogmatics, moral theology and missiology) which is characterized by a fruitful confrontation of the thought of Saint Thomas with contemporary thought.


Board and Advisory Board

In accordance with CIC cc. 215 and 216, the statutes of the foundation have been approved by the bishop of Haar­lem-Am­ster­dam on June 18, 2020. In accordance with art. 4, the members of the board are appointed by the bishop of Haar­lem-Am­ster­dam.

The Board consists of Dr. J. Vijgen (chair), Dr. J. Verburgt (secretary), N. Schonebaum (treasurer) and Prof. A. Elders (board member).

The Advisory Board consists of Mgr. J. Hendriks (Bishop of Haar­lem-Am­ster­dam), Bruno Couillaud (IPC, Paris), Cajetan Cuddy O.P. (Dominican House of Studies, Washington D.C.), Dr. Lambert Hendriks (Major Seminary Rolduc), Prof. Dr. Carlos Augusto Casanova Guerra (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile), Matthew Leve­ring (University of Saint Mary of the Lake, Mundelein), Elisabeth Reinhardt (Universidad de Navarra, Pamplona) and Piotr Roszak (Nicolaus Copernicus University, Torún).

Support the Leo J. Elders Foundation

Leo J. Elders Foundation
address: Zil­ker­duin­weg 375
2114 AM Vo­ge­len­zang
The Netherlands
IBAN bank account: NL13 INGB 0007 9055 77
BIC / Swift code: INGBNL2A
Donate online: